Give Jesus Your Sprinkles.

THE tea. Oh, THE southern sweet tea. 

Everyone has their favorite. Mine just happens to be from McAlister’s Deli. It’s not too sweet; it’s just right. 

But sweet tea isn’t the only thing I judge pretty harshly — I know my cookies. Haha, ok, so maybe I don’t. But I do have a favorite cookie. If you have ever walked up to the Great American Cookie Co. and looked at their array of cookies, the one so colorful catches my eye every time. It’s the sugar cookie. So soft, so sweet, and baked with the prettiest sprinkles.

I’m not sure how the Great American Cookie Co. always has the roundest cookies, but they do. I think that’s why a cookie from McAlister’s Deli can sometimes be such a breathe of fresh air. They aren’t perfectly round like the cookies at the other bakeries. It’s like McAlister’s cookies never worry about how they turn out (shape wise) because they’re still good!

The cookies from McAlister’s Deli aren’t my favorite, but hey, a cookie is a cookie right?

 

 

 

It’s so great having a favorite cookie. Actually, it is great to just LOVE cookies.

Do you want to know why? (Duh, of course you do.)

Because I really don’t care how big the cookie is, how small the cookie is, how many sprinkles are actually in my favorite sugar cookie, or if the cookie is perfectly round or not. I AM GOING TO EAT THE COOKIE.

 

And that, my friends, is why God is so awesome.

Let’s compare ourselves to a cookie. Some of us may be the sugar cookie from the Great American Cookie Co. That cookie has lots of sprinkles. But not every cookie can always have the same amount of sprinkles. Or maybe you’re the cookie from McAlister’s Deli – the cookie that is never round.  But guess what, there is always going to be someone who wants to buy that cookie with more or less sprinkles or the non-rounded cookie.

 

What a wonderful God we have. Just like someone always wants to buy those cookies, God always wants us to be part of His family and to experience His great love and mercy.

We may come with many sprinkles (lots of baggage from our past), or few sprinkles (feeling like we don’t “have” enough to give to God), or don’t feel round enough (feeling like our sins will never be able to be forgiven).

But, “The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love” for us all. [Psalm 103:8]

Jesus doesn’t care how small you think you are or how big you think your sins are, because He is going to use you when you give your life fully to Him! (…just like I am going to eat that cookie when I fully give all my money in my wallet to the people at the bakery…haha)

 

So why not offer your life to Him? Give Jesus your sprinkles and your non-rounded edges and let Him lead and direct your paths.

 

 

P.S. Go treat yourself to some southern sweet tea and a cookie. 

Leave a comment